Welcome!

Welcome to Flat Top Gaming! I hope that you find this site useful and entertaining to you as a player, DM/GM, and enthusiast of tabletop games of all varieties. Why am I here? Well, to be blunt, I have a lot on my mind in the realm of tabletop gaming, and was looking for an outlet in which to discuss them. My hope is that you will join me in the conversation and one day help create content and information about our beloved hobby.

My experience with board games started during my childhood with games like Candy Land, Clue, Monopoly (which was the cause of MANY arguments in our house), Life, and many others. As my brother and I reached high school, board games took a back seat to technologically sophisticated and more visually exciting video games. Stay up until 2am playing the original Halo with 9 of your closest friends? Did that.

Video games were the rage into college and my early days as an adult. I’d come home from a long day at work, sit down to EA Sports FIFA 2010 for an hour or two, and go to sleep. The biggest problem with video games, however, was the immense feeling of isolation and rapid onset of boredom that would quickly accompany a new title. You know it’s a bad sign when an avid soccer enthusiast sets the controller down and turns the game off by halftime.

A few years later, I discovered a whole new world of gaming: Eurogames. Board games like Settlers of Catan, Munchkin, and Carcassonne rekindled the flame of tabletop gaming. I was invited to a game night with some friends and was introduced to Munchkin for the first time. That night was the most fun I’d had, and the hardest I’ve laughed in a very long time (not to mention the latest I’d stayed up while NOT at work ever). The experience of sitting around a table with friends, laughing, joking, making memories together is one that nothing can ever replace. Since then, I’ve been hooked.

What kind of content can you expect out of me? Reviews, previews, thoughts, experiences, musings, and maybe even some stories from a variety of tabletop games, including RPGs, Indy games, Eurogames, and the like. I have not gotten into tabletop combat games like Warhammer 50k, so if you are interested in those systems and want to guest blog, let me know! I also hope to use this site to pass along any fun and pertinent news and information on tabletop gaming. What that will be specifically might be guided by you all and what you are interested in.

So come along, and join me in the conversation about tabletop board games!

Leave a Reply

